You Can’t Un-Ring a Bell

I don’t know how many of you have heard this saying but it means a lot to me. Once a bell is rung and the sound heard, who can take it back? While a kind word can change a person’s life, a cruel comment can be much more damaging. I tried to teach this to my students just about every day and I hope it stuck, but who knows? Bullying awareness is very mainstream right now, and that’s a good thing, but why not start with the basics? Be careful of what you say and teach your young people the same. But don’t forget to set the example.

I grew up in a home where I was abused. I honestly thought I was incapable of doing much of anything and fear ruled me. It took a wonderful husband and years of simply trying new things (with success and failure) to realize just how well my father used fear as a weapon to control me. It isn’t easy to break that mindset. I still struggle with it.

While I try not to dwell on this, I wonder just how different my life would be had my home life been positive, uplifting, encouraging. But I can’t fall into that trap because I now have the control. That is evident in my taking on this blog and by following my dream of being a photographer and editor.

My parents never told me I could be anything I wanted to be, but I’m here today to tell you I CAN. Now pass it along. Change someone’s future.

Leave a Reply

