a little lucky

I challenged myself to take some close-up images today when I noticed what I thought was a common moth on my roses. I snapped away, trying to catch it as it flitted from flower to flower, without getting so close that I would scare it off. Notice her “face” is pointed towards the bottom of the picture.

Image

Gray Hairstreak butterfly by pk

As I looked at my photos I noticed how uncommon this little beauty was and did a little research. It’s not a moth but a Gray Hairstreak butterfly, here in Texas. The information I read sited it to be a Californian wanderer.

Image

Flit by pk

You are a long way from home little beauty. I consider myself lucky to have been at the right place at just the right time. Yay me! May you all be a little lucky today.

4 thoughts on “a little lucky

  1. Pingback: Gray Hairstreak | Winged Beauty

Leave a Reply

