visiting, part 1

When any family or friends visit me in Texas, I like to take a trip to historical downtown Carrollton. It’s full of locally owned shops, and my favorite is the Silver Star Mercantile. My dear mom-in-law gladly let me drag her there for some window shopping during her recent stay. I didn’t have to twist her arm too much…

Image

Wabbit sign by pk

The Silver Star is one of those places where the door jingles when you walk in. I love that!

Image

Baking tins by pk

And the owner, Susan, has such an artistic, creative eye for packaging and presenting her wares. She has everything from buttons and books to antiques and barbecue sauce.

Image

Notions by pk

Image

Smile by pk

I used to be a jewelry hound, now I look more than I leap.

Image

Some neck love by pk

Image

Broach by pk

And you might tell yourself you’re just gonna look for a minute but an hour later, you’re still oohing and ahhing in the back of the store.

Image

Summer time by pk

DSC_0138

A message by pk

There’s nothing like a slow summer afternoon spent with loved ones. I hope your summer is sizzling too!

9 thoughts on “visiting, part 1

Leave a Reply

