ontario

Isn’t he beautiful?!

On duty

On duty

I took a walking trip to historic McKinney today for the sole purpose of taking pictures (and lunching with my hubby). It’s a beautiful town really, lots of buildings, signs, lines and designs. I was snapping this and that when I saw him. Ontario. Noooo, not the police officer! His service horse. I asked if I could take pictures first, and the officer was very kind and patient. Since I’m learning about using the correct light with aperture, f-stop, ISO…well, let’s just say I took a few minutes.

After petting Ontario, we let the officer get back to keeping law and order. It was a beautiful day ideal for walking and smiling at people. Have you other photographers ever noticed how people tend to look at you a little closer when you are carrying your camera?

Ontario's brown eye

Ontario’s brown eye

As you can tell from many of my photos, I employ a lot of close-ups. I just prefer that point of view. I also love good contrast.

Blue light

Blue light

Tennessee native Throckmorton

Tennessee native Throckmorton

The above statue is of James Throckmorton who was the 11th governor of Texas and a congressman. I was drawn to it because it was made of marble. Amazing.

Gertie, metal sculpture

Gertie, metal sculpture

And this is Gertie the giraffe. I don’t know if its name is really Gertie, I just made it up. In person she looks like a Gertie to me. She is made of welded steel. The detail was stunning. I’m always amazed at how skilled artists can be. I mean, who sees a giraffe in sheets of steel??? Below is a better picture of her size.

Gertie going the wrong way!

Gertie going the wrong way!

I plan to go back to this artsy town soon. Not just for taking pictures but for all the shopping – window shopping in my case. There were numerous shops and restaurants. I could spend a whole day looking, snapping, walking, etc. I’ve learned there are quite a few towns here in the Dallas-Fort Worth area which offer a rich crop of activity. If you’re ever in the area, McKinney is a must-see. And don’t forget your camera!

Leave a Reply

